Linux Mint on the HP G62

While I’m waiting for the Goop to dry on my Gateway laptop, I decided to rescue an old HP G62 laptop that had a virus ridden copy of Windows on it. Mint installed without problems. When I repartitioned the hard drive, I found that HP had helpfully reserved 10 of the 30 GBytes for their Windows recovery software, so the laptop could have been rebuilt with Windows. Oh well, goodbye. I like to use my disk space, thanks.

I like the stock Firefox on mint, but I’m not keen on Yahoo search, so I switched on Google, even though they don’t share search revenue with Mint. I also cleaned out the bookmark bar (Mint provides a bunch of bookmarks I’ll never use) and added Gmail and the Jumbler. I’ll update this post with more configs as I make them.

First off, the terminal:

  1. Open the profile preferences
  2. Set the font size to the smallest size that I can read easily (8 point)
  3. Adjust the default size to something usable (128×68)
  4. Set scrollback to unlimited
About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

