I Am a Rock: An Anthem for MGTOW

iamarockI feel lucky to have been born in the sixties, and to have married a woman who is faithful and true. Others in my family, however, have had their marriages end in divorce. As divorce laws have become less just, with “no fault” taken into account and a strong bias toward women, many men have begun to opt out of marriage and relationships entirely.

When Paul Simon wrote “I Am a Rock”, he was writing about loneliness, but today, it serves as a picture of what I imagine the mind of a man who has gone his own way to look like:

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark December,
I am alone.
Gazing from my window to the streets below,
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.

I’ve built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship, friendship causes pain.
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.

Don’t talk of love,
I’ve heard the words before;
They’re sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.

I have my books

And my poetry to protect me,
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.

I am a rock,
I am an island.
And a rock feels no pain,
And an island never cries.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

