Epic Troll of Windows Scammer

windows-scamI just got another call from the “Windows Company”. Apparently, I had downloaded a virus. Here’s what happened:

  1. The guy got me to close all windows. I didn’t, but told him I had.
  2. He asked me what icons I had on the desk top. I told him there were two: My Computer and the Home folder.
  3. He asked me what browser I was running. I told him Firefox.
  4. He asked me to open it. I opened a new tab.
  5. He asked me to enter http://www.supremocontrol.com. I searched it, saw that it was a site hosting remote control software, and went to the site.
  6. He asked me to hit the orange Download button. I did.
  7. He asked me to click on the browser’s download arrow. I did.
  8. He asked me to double click on the file supremo.exe. I did.
  9. He asked me what came up, and I told him a dialog box that said supremo.exe.
  10. He asked me to hit the run button. I told him there wasn’t one, only an Extract button.
  11. At this point, he said “you know I will kill you”.
  12. “That’s not very nice,” I replied, and hung up.

Some fun facts:

  1. The company that makes Windows is called Microsoft, not “The Windows Company”.
  2. I gave him many clues to the fact that I was running Linux, including the fact that the SupRemo website thought I was running either iOS or Android.
  3. I can safely double click on any .exe, even malware, because I run Linux. Don’t try this if you run Windows. SupRemo seems to be a legit product, but a scammer could try to get you to install actual malware.

troll-face

I am happy to have wasted ten minutes of a scammer’s time. Please join me in this fun and useful pursuit. Scammers beware, we know what you’re doing, and we will troll your asses!

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

