Review of “Star Trek: Beyond”

star-trek-beyond* * C

I spent part of New Year’s Eve watching the latest film in the rebooted Star Trek alternate universe (AU). It was quite good, with the main cast reprising their roles and Idris Elba under a ton of makeup playing the baddie. Simon Pegg (Scotty) cowrote the script for the film, with J J Abrams was once again producing. This was the worst of the three films, in my opinion, but only by a slim margin.

Not much about this film blew me away, which was surprising since it made many other’s top ten lists. There was no great message to be found, the edgy characters from the first film were muted, and Elba played a fairly stock bad guy. There is a big twist ending, but I didn’t find it that great. The cast did little more than play their parts, and new character Jaylah (Sofia Boutella) was a very weak love interest. Standing out among the actors was Karl Urban as Dr. McCoy.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review of “Star Trek: Beyond”

  1. pinkbambi13 says:

    As a bit fan of the franchise, I found myself a bit disappointed with the movie. It just felt too over the top and gimmicky and didn’t have that character depth and growth I’ve loved in other movies and series.

    • jimbelton says:

      A good summary of what pushed it over the edge to two stars for me. What I’d love to see is another star Star Trek film, where there is a solid Science Fiction plot too. My favourite trek film is still “The Voyage Home”.

  2. I liked the movie, but agree the bad guy was meh.

    • jimbelton says:

      Villains have generally been a weakness for Trek. Kahn was solid, but like most Trek villains, human. One of my favorite Trek villains was the Borg collective, before it was revealed to be a bunch of humans. The idea of truly alien aliens that either want to destroy all humans or merely doesn’t care but will kill anything in their way is terrifying. A good example are Fred Saberhagen’s Berserkers. The problem with Trek is that even when the writers create a good enemy, they always end up humanizing them.

Leave a Comment

