The God of Richard Dawkins

god-delusionRichard Dawkins, perhaps the most famous atheist who ever lived, author of the New York Times bestseller “The God Delusion”, makes some potent arguments against theism. Yet he also says some things that are incredibly hypocritical. Quoting from page 53:

Far better, of course, would be to abandon … religion altogether as a grounds for charitable status. The benefits of this to society would be great, especially in the United States, where the sums of tax free money sucked in by churches … reach levels that could fairly be described as obscene.

I find this statement itself to be obscene. I have a right to give money to whoever I want. What right does that state have to steal a portion of that money from me? And who are you, Dr. Dawkins, to say that my money would be better spent by the state than by a religious charity? Looking at what the government does with the tens of thousands of dollars they forcibly take off the top of my pay check each year, I think society would be far better off if 100% of my gift went to the Salvation Army, thank you very much.

Dr. Dawkins, you rail against religion (not without reason), yet you offer the state the same blind allegiance that you criticize the religious for giving to the church. But the state is a religion, and it has become every bit as corrupt as the Catholic church ever was. Shall I name the god whose altar you are worshiping at? Jesus had a name for it: Mammon. The god of the state is money, which is just power by another name. And power always corrupts.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

