The Eye of the Needle

eye-of-the-needleWealth consists not in having great possessions, but in having few wants.”
― Epictetus

When a young man asked Jesus what he must do to have eternal life, Jesus told him he must keep the commandments. When the youth asked which commandments, Jesus replied:

You must commit neither murder, nor adultery. You must not steal, nor give false testimony. Honour your mother and father, and love your neighbour as much as you love yourself.”

The young man told Jesus he had kept all these commandment since youth and asked what he still lacked. Jesus replied:

If thou want to be perfect, go and sell everything that you have, and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come and follow me.”

When the young man heard this, he went away in sorrow, for he had great wealth.

“Truly I tell you,” said Jesus to his disciples, “that hardly a rich man shall be found in the kingdom of heaven. It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven.

When his disciples heard this, they were amazed, and wondered who then could be saved. But Jesus saw their confusion, and said:

With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Eye of the Needle

  1. ropheka says:

    Spiritual wealth is the greatest wealth and that is achieved through a loving relationship with Christ

    • jimbelton says:

      In my case, my spiritual wealth was acquired in a much different way. I was a very strong minded atheist until I took a seminar created by two psychologists. My ego was crushed. Egoless, I dwelt for a time in a world where the Spirit was immanent, visible all around me. My ego took years to rebuild itself. During that time, I discovered the teachings of Buddha and Lao Tzu, read Homer, Wayne Dyer, and Gary Zukav, and read the new testament, the gnostic gospels, and much of the old testament.

Leave a Comment

