Why I’m Leaving Scribd.

When Scribd started, its goalpaywall was to be the YouTube of print media. The site had great statistics on how many reads your documents were getting and levels of engagement, and there was a community similar to the WordPress community. Now, if you go there, you are immediately hit with a membership come on (albeit with 2 weeks free). If you know the trick (browsing directly to https://www.scribd.com/), you can get a search window.

Try searching for my most popular document, my modern English translation of the first three chapters of Paradise Lost, a document that was read by thousands before Scribd sold out, and you won’t find it. You will find numerous books, including the original by John Milton, which is in the public domain, all behind the Scribd pay wall. But, since I opted to keep my document free for all, it does not show up.

I’m going to begin moving my documents to WordPress so that people can find and enjoy them the way they used to be able to on Scribd. I’ll also make Kindle friendly versions of some of them available on Amazon for a nominal charge. If you like my books, please blog about them and get the word out. Everything on my WordPress is free to read. Enjoy!

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

