The Wisdom of the Beginner’s Mind

Zen describes the perspective that anshosin enlightened person maintains at all times as shoshin, “the beginner’s mind”. Jesus understood this concept well. He constantly refers to it in sayings like this one:

Unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

Jesus’s wisdom was revealed to him, not learned from scripture. That is why he says:

I thank you, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the [so called] wise and prudent, and have revealed them to little children. All wisdom is given to me by the Spirit, and no man knows me but by the Spirit. Nor does any man know the Spirit, save me and whoever I reveal it to.

Jesus goes on to say that accepting his teaching is easy compared to the suffering that we endure in living for our desires.

Come to me, all of you who strive and bear heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Learn from me; for I am gentle and humble, and your souls will find solace. For wearing my harness is easy, and the burden I will give you is light.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

