Prince of Peace?

prince-of-peace

Jesus is know as the Prince of Peace, yet he makes the following statement to his disciples in private:

Don’t think that I have come to create peace on earth. I come not with peace, but with a sword. For I have come to set men at variance with their fathers, and daughters against their mothers. A man’s enemies shall be the people of his own household.

I believe he is simply pointing out that the process of become spiritually conscious will be resisted by those who do not want us to change. I’m going to paraphrase what he says next to clarify what I think he means by it:

He who values maintaining civil relations with his father or mother more than openly espousing my message is not worthy of the kingdom of heaven. He who would acquiesce to his son or daughter rather than stand up for his belief in my message is not ready to enter the kingdom of heaven. Anyone that won’t take up his cross, the burden of censure by those who aren’t ready to believe, and openly follow me, is not worthy to see the kingdom of heaven.

He then makes the following enigmatic statement:

He who finds his life shall lose it: and he who loses his life for my sake shall find it.

I take this to mean that finding spiritual life will cause you to leave behind your former life of unconscious desire, and that giving up your life circumstances to follow Jesus’s message will give you truly worthwhile life. He finishes this message (and again, I’m paraphrasing) with:

He who receives an open believer in my message receives me, and he who receives my message receives the keys to the kingdom of heaven.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

