Review of “Hitman: Agent 47”

* * C

The Syndicate corporation find the daughter of scientisthitman-agent-47 Litvenko (Ciarin “Aberforth” Hinds), creator of the hit-men, and their agent John Smith (Zachary “Siler” Quinto) races to get to her before assassin Agent 47 (Rupert Friend). Katia (Hannah Ware) is more than she seems. She is the only one who can find her father.

This film is a fairly predictable straight forward action flick. The acting is sufficient, but the characters are thin, Katia being the stand out as she adapts to the world of the hit-man. Worth a watch if you are a fan of the video game series.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review of “Hitman: Agent 47”

  1. Prime Six says:

    Although I agree I was quite brutal in my review at https://primesix.wordpress.com/ đŸ™‚
    Do you play the Hitman games?

    • jimbelton says:

      Prime Six:

      I agree with your review. My two stars are out of five, meaning we both gave it 4/10. To me, two stars means “you can watch this”. Kind of like a good episode of a TV program. One means barely watchable, and three means good but not great.

      Since I haven’t played the Hitman games, I didn’t have any preconception of the story. I hadn’t seen the original film, either. I’ve since watched and reviewed it. It was much more of a straight up spy thriller. I liked the idea in Agent 47 that the hit-men have been retconned to be optimen. The concept of optimen can be used to create brilliant fiction, like Gattica. The creators of Agent 47 certainly didn’t succeed in doing so.

      • Prime Six says:

        Ahh Gattica, that’s on my watch list. Yeah it’s a classic sci-fi storyline that’s reused but, like you said Agent 47 didn’t do it well

Leave a Comment

