Review of “The Book of Life”

* * C

The Book of Life, an animated film book-of-lifebased on Mexican folklore, is cute and colorful, but I found the story and characters a bit uncompelling. The story revolves around a love triangle and a bet made between the two gods of the underworld, La Muerte (based on the Mexican folk diety Santa Muerte or Saint Death) and Xibalba (named after the Mayan underworld) on which of two suitors, courageous Joaquin or romantic Manolo, will marry the feisty Maria. The film looks nice, though I found the animation too stylized for my taste. If you are into animated film, this one is watchable, but after some of the rave reviews I’d heard, I was a bit disappointed.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

