Book Review: “Golden Son”

* * * * A

While not quite as good as “Red Rising”, to which Golden Son is the sequel, it’s close. Author Pierce Brown continues to nail his mixture of golden-sonspace opera, dystopian future, and romance. He repeatedly brings the story to a climax, then jumps forward in time to have things have fallen apart; this pattern is a bit repetitive. One of the major plot developments was jarring, and I found myself wondering if I’d forgotten something that happened in the previous book until it became clear from the timeline that it was a twist, but that that wasn’t made clear (enough for me, at least). Being that there will be a third book, I think I can say without spoiling this installment that it ends in a brutal cliff hanger. All in all, a good read. Here’s hoping that the next installment will be a great conclusion to the trilogy.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

