New Laptop: Time to Install Linux

Got a brand new Gateway laptop for Xmas. It came preinstalled with Windows 8. I haven’t run Windows for years. So step 1 is to install Linux.

I decided to stick with Ubuntu, which is what I’ve been running on my last two laptops. I don’t like or use Unity, but I like the apps that come prebuilt for the distro.

First step is to download Ubuntu 64 bit. Next, I downloaded the universal ISO installer, a free Windows utility that will make a bootable thumbdrive with an ISO. I made my 64G thumb drive an Ubuntu 13 installer.

Before I could boot the installer, I had to boot to the BIOS by rebooting and hitting F2 until the BIOS configuration program opened. Then I moved the USB boot up in the priorities so it would be tried before booting windows. Finally, I had to disable secure booting.

After a final reboot, the Unbuntu installer was running. I selected the defaults and told it to wipe the disk clean. Goodbye, Windows 8. After a long install process including installation of software over wireless, I was able to reboot into Ubuntu 13. Next step: Goodbye Unity.

About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in linux and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

