Fixing Ubuntu 12.04’s UI

At home, I run Ubuntu 12.04. I didn’t like the Unity desktop, so I switched back to Gnome. I found there are still a lot of things that had changed for the worse. Here are some of them and how to get rid of them.

Window Picker

The binding of <Shift><Alt>Up to the Unity Window Picker breaks column selection in geany, my preferred text editor. To get rid of it:

  1. Run:
    sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager
  2. Open Applications/System Tools/Preferences/CompizConfig Settings Manager
  3. Click the Scale button under Window Management
  4. Click the Bindings tab
  5. Click on the button marked <Shift><Alt>Up
  6. Change it to <Alt><Super>Up
About jimbelton

I'm a software developer, and a writer of both fiction and non-fiction, and I blog about movies, books, and philosophy. My interest in religious philosophy and the search for the truth inspires much of my writing.
This entry was posted in linux and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

